Supporting Todays Youth

Hello friends! This blog is kinda all over the place. It made sense in my head and then I started typing and it is a little hard to follow but I hope that this will make at least one of you think about your life!!

Tonight I came across an Instagram page that was completely devoted to Atheism and the top of the page said that a world without religion would be a perfect world. Well being the curious person I am I scrolled through the page just to see what they were posting and what I saw broke my heart. I saw many old testament verses being used in the wrong context for example Leviticus 25:44 “Your slaves are to come from nations around you: from them you may buy slaves. You may also buy some of the temporary residents living among you and members of their clans born in your country, and they will become you property” under the verse the said “If you religious book promotes slavery why do you still follow your religion?” If any of you have read through Leviticus you know it is a book full of laws that God was giving to Moses to share with his people. These people were under this law because Jesus had not come down to Earth yet. Because Jesus came to Earth and eventually died a sinners death for us we no longer need to live under those laws, we are saved by grace through faith alone Ephesians 2:8 “For you are saved by grace through faith and this s is not from yourselves, it is God’s gift. Nor from works so hat no one can boast.”

I heard a conversation this past week where someone said they didn’t care if you believed if Jesus was God’s son or if he was just a good man or a prophet, they only cared about the good you were doing for others around you.

I have witnessed many people who claim to be Christ followers who do not live a life that is honoring to God. They listen to bad music, watch bad shows, and talk negatively about others.

Now I gave you these examples to tell you this, the church needs to be investing and teaching the next generation the truth not some mushy gushy feel good stuff. We need to be telling these kids what it truly means to be walking beside God in your life not just playing games and having a good time (I’m not saying that playing games and having fun is a bad thing but we need to be teaching more than that. These kids need to know their bible and need to be able to defend it when needed. We need to stop feeding them what they want to hear and what will make them happy because they will be in for a world of hurt when they go out into the real world. We need to be teaching them to rely on God when tough times come because life is not always easy-peasy. Life gets hard, life will throw you curve balls and if we don’t supply the resources and the people to support each other then I think we have failed at our job.

Now I know some of you will be thinking that I am still one of these kids and that I don’t know what it means to go through tough stuff but trust me, I’ve been through my fair share of crap in my life and I believe that God put me through those things for a reason and that they made me who I am today. I would not have such a heart for the lost and broken in this world if I hadn’t of been lost and broken when I finally opened my heart to God. I have had to cling to God with all I have because he was all that I had left. I give a lot of the credit for that to my parents and my grandparents they showed me what it means to let God run your life and to rely on Him for everything. I want to be able to use my story to impact others around me. I want to be able to use my story to show these kids what it means to follow God at such a young age. I am not perfect by any means and do not have a perfect walk with God at all but I try to and that is what I want to share with you guys. If there is someone in your life who is younger than you or someone who is just starting out in their walk with God. I would encourage you to first pray about it and if God is leading to share your story, share you struggles, and share how God brought you through that. This weekend I was able to go to a Silver Ring Thing event and was touched by the openness of these individuals to share their story with so many. So many of their stories revealed very vulnerable aspects of their life but they were willing to listen to God and follow through knowing that He can use their story to impact people’s lives. I know that they impacted my life and I’m sure they impacted many other peoples lives as well and if God can use me to do that with at least one person then I believe my life is worth it. What are you going to do to make your life worth it? Who are you going to share your story with? Who are you going to mentor and show what it means to walk with God?

Will you join me in praying for the youth around us?

Lord God please give us all a heart that yearns to be with you and to do your will God. I want to thank you for opening my heart and my eyes to these youth that need to me mentored and to be shown what it means to walk with you God I pray that others will join me in praying for a revival within this generation, a revival that will leave the world speechless God. I pray that we will be able to teach you word in a way that they understand and in a way that can be used in their everyday lives. I pray that they will make their faith their own and that it wont be their parents or their grandparents faith anymore. God move in the generation is big and mighty ways like only you can. Thank you for entrusting us with these precious children of you! I love you Father ❤

Your loving daughter,

Shelbryae

Leave a Reply

